Minimizing and Zero Waste

I Gave In

So yesterday I took a load of baby related items to the second-hand baby store and anything that they wouldn’t take for any reason stayed in my car and I went back home to see if I had any other small items that I wanted to just take to the thrift store. I found a few baskets and other small items and decided they weren’t worth my time so I loaded them up and away we went.

20170209_123514.jpg

Got everything dropped off  and then decided to wander a bit inside and see if I could find any glass jars for canning or storing my dry goods like I’m in the process of doing. I’ve had my dry goods in plastic locking containers for years now and as a lot of my dry goods end up sitting for a while so I decided it was probably better for me to change the containers to glass. I had quite a few glass jars already so I’ve got quite a few things moved over. It was good too because it made me acknowledge how rarely I use certain items (like corn meal) and can find a few recipes to use that up and then next time only buy as much as a recipe calls for.

kitchen-cleanout

I’ve got awesome things in store for my posts next week that I can’t wait to share with you! Should also have some chicks hatching in the next week as well – YIPPEE!!

Have a great weekend!

-H

20170208_161840
My handsome rooster
Leave a Reply

