Chickens · Garden · Homestead

Green Thumb Thursdays – Dandelion Jelly Review and Updates on Garden and Chicks

This past week has been full of trial (and error). First, I made some Dandelion Jelly which I was really surprised with. First of all, the recipe was easy to make with the hardest part being the collection of enough dandelions and yes, the tedious job of cutting all the flower petals off of the stem.

Dandelion jelling in canning jars | www.homestead-acres.com

The whole process turned out really well but while I was setting the full jar in the water bath, it cracked. BUMMER DUDE! So after it had set overnight, I had to carefully open it and try it out. The jelly is really good, I wouldn’t say that it tastes like honey with a bit of lemon as I’d read elsewhere, but it was really tasty and unlike anything I’d ever had before.

I think if I were to make it again I would make it and put into small jam jars rather than the large quart jar that I used. I’m thinking that was the problem. I normally use the jam jars but didn’t have any that weren’t being used so I grabbed the quart instead. Oh well, now I’ll just have to eat it up fast.

In case any of you would like to try this awesome stuff, here is the recipe I used from Homestead Acres.



As far as updates go, I transplanted my sunflower seeds into the ground, the taller ones along one of the bedroom windows and smaller ones in my garden. My chickens keep nibbling on them so I’m not sure how long they’ll last, or if I can keep them out of the sunflowers. We had a crazy storm come through over the weekend and all my sprouts in the garden took off, especially my carrots; I swear they grew two inches!

2-23-indoor-seed-starts-2
Seedlings taking off

I’ve got a tray of seedlings in my bedroom enjoying the Southern exposure. I decided to expand my garden to the side of my house where I have six or more hours of sunlight every day but it’ll require some work before I put the seeds in the ground. I’m going to have to get some chicken fencing and try to put the birds in there with some compost and see if they can work it in the ground a bit. This area is pretty hard and hasn’t had anything but weeds growing along there so I’m pretty excited to see if I can do anything with it.

I’ve been watching the vlog posts by Justin Rhodes of his permaculture design and how he uses his chickens to help around the garden so I’m hoping that I can implement some of these techniques around my garden area. If you’d like to check out their vlog you can click here and it will take you to the general page. 

2-23-avacado-seed-update-2
Avocado pit growing some roots (FINALLY)

A few months back I decided to “plant” an avocado pit in some water as I saw done online in a few places. Most of the time this leads to a de-bunking but this time it actually worked. I will admit, I was hesitant that this was going to work as there were no roots or change but then early this week it must’ve heard me threatening to throw it in the garbage and finally did something. Ha! Here’s a glimpse of my cute little avocado root.



2-23-incubator-with-round-2
Round 2 in the incubator after small changes made

On another front, my chick that I was so excited hatched from my $8 incubator over the weekend died in the brooder. I was incredibly upset and am having to learn from it and try to make sure that any chicks I get from my second batch (that I started on Monday) don’t have any problems. I’m not positive what happened, but I’m doing extra research and making sure I have the best brooder ready for those little squirts.


How are your seed starts coming along? Have you had any luck sprouting trees from seeds?

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

