Minimizing and Zero Waste

Spice Jars, Wardrobe Revamp, and Green Product Reviews

So this past week I decided to overhaul my spice cupboards and work on my wardrobe update. I have a lot of spices is random sized plastic containers on my cute vintage shelves and decided I wanted something that looked more cohesive in jars that I wouldn’t just toss and replace but that I would take to Sprouts and have refilled instead. I scoured the websites of stores near me like Walmart, Target, Sears, Kohls, World Market, etc. hoping to see what they had available as far as spice jars went and I found the best option, both economically and functionally, at World Market here.

3.13 spice jar

I love these because they are a perfect size and only cost $0.99 at my local store where I was able to buy them individually. This made me very happy because I picked up 10 because I wasn’t sure how many I would need and it turns out I will only need two more to replace the plastic containers; anything in glass jars will just be refilled in those jars rather than buying new ones, at least for now.

 

20170310_171521
A variety of glass jars used to hold baking spices, tea bags, and loose-leaf tea. I have two of these shelf units and love them!

 


I had my 28th birthday at the end of January and had a realization around that time that I am wearing the same (style of) clothes that I wore in high school and since it has been 10 years since I graduated, I decided it was time for an update. I scoured Pinterest and my favorite YouTubers and found that I was really attracted to simple outfits with black or white tops and pops of color through accessories (or a colored shirt with black or white sweater over top). I decided to check out a few local consignment and thrift stores and was incredibly surprised by what I was able to pick up.

I ended up buying 3 sweaters, a pair of jeans (!!!), 3 t-shirts, and a couple shirts from the mega clearance at Kohl’s. I had only planned on getting white t-shirts from Kohl’s but didn’t like the ones they had on clearance but did find a nice black tee and a cute sleeveless turtleneck sweater dress (I know, sounds terrible) but it was super cute! Both items cost less than $10 while my stash from the thrift stores totaled $23. I never really liked the idea of shopping at a thrift store but you would be amazed at how many items still have tags or have hardly been worn – just think of it as pre-washed so you know when you try it on that it will fit the same after you do an immediate wash.


Last week I shared with you the couple green replacements for a few everyday items that I ordered from Amazon. I decided I’m not going to explain all the product information in this review, simply what I thought of the items and links for you to check them out if you would like to.

First was my bamboo toothbrush. All I can say is why did I wait so long to try one of these? The bristles feel incredibly better than the ones on “normal” brushes and even the handle seems a more ergonomic shape than most. I will definitely be switching to only these from now on and would recommend in an instant! Here is the link to the product on Amazon.

3.13 green review toothbrush

Next up was my hairbrush, remember my last one was at least 4 or 5 years old and I had so many of the pins missing because of how old it was. I would up buying this one, again on Amazon, and am so glad that I did. I was really skeptical about those pins and how they would feel against my scalp but it’s great! I am so happy that I am probably going to buy more of this type for my husband’s brush and comb as well. I am also making a point to clean it after every use so that I don’t get any hair built up.

 

3.13 green review hairbrush

Finally, I have a dish brush that I bought with the intention of using it for my cast iron pans. I was happy to find that it had rough bristles and is great for its purpose. I bought this one but I know there are others with a longer handle to keep you hand out of the water if you prefer. I will say that I am able to grip the handle of this one very well and next time will likely buy this one again. The only thing I didn’t like about it is that any food or particles that get stuck in the bristles are incredibly difficult to remove because of how long and tightly packed the bristles are.

3.13 green review dish brush

I also bought a similar brush from Lassen’s that I am using for my vegetable brush but it has a circular handle, it’s nice but there is no way that I could use it for dishes, the handle isn’t nearly as comfortable as the one above. Unfortunately, Lassen’s doesn’t show their items online for me to link it for you but you might find one in your search online if you are interested. I do like the fact that the two are so different that I won’t mistakenly take the veggie brush to do the dishes.

 

Leave a Reply

